More egg free baking: Whole wheat pumpkin ginger muffins

I have been hooked to Prevention magazine for a couple of years now. They do a pretty good job of covering the latest, research backed health, food and fitness trends. And, no I don’t work for them! I probably would if they asked me nicely J 

In one of their recent editions, I came across a recipe for these ginger pumpkin muffins. The original recipe called for eggs, which I had to leave out.  I had talked about how my baking is now completely egg free in this post.  While I was at it, I also made a couple of other modifications to the recipe. The end result was not disappointing at all; I think I will be baking these quite often.  You can find the original recipe here.

pumpkin-ginger-muffins.jpg

 You’ll need:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup canola oil
  • ½ cup pure pureed pumpkin (I used a canned organic variety)
  • ½ cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 cup low fat milk (can substitute with rice, almond or soy milk) 

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degree F. Line a muffin tin with paper lining and spritz generously with non stick spray
  • Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl
  • Whisk the wet ingredients together in a separate bowl
  • Dump the wet mixture into the dry mixture and mix gently. Do not over work this dough
  • Scoop into the muffin tins, filling each cup to about 3/4th
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the toothpick test works
  • Cool and eat! You can top these muffins with pumpkin seeds for added crunch.

These don’t last too long if you don’t put them in the refrigerator. So, let them cool, eat some and store the rest in the fridge. They taste pretty good reheated in the microwave for a few seconds.

spnfrk.gif

15 thoughts on “More egg free baking: Whole wheat pumpkin ginger muffins

  1. Yummy…i would definitely try this b’coz even i am on the way to become a vegan.Love to hear more from you with lots of egg-free baking recipes.Thanxs.

  2. Ah, I have some pumkin ready to turn into muffins! Is there a substitute for maple syrup?

    Yes, you could use either honey or molasses. If you don’t have either, you could use 1/2 cup sugar and cut the WW flour to 1 1/2 cups 🙂

  3. I always see all blogger friends made muffins but never this type of taste……..with ginger and pumpkin it is different in taste. With out egg it is very nice idea.:)

  4. They are perfect KA. The smell of pumpkin while baking is irresistable! Agree? Very nice. Pumpkin and ginger always matches well. Viji

  5. Hello,
    Do these work well with a flour substitute? I
    bought a boxed gluten-free flour mix, & wondered about that.
    Right now I am on an elimination diet, so I
    cannot have eggs, wheat, corn, dairy or nuts..
    & I’m sensitive to soy and sugar replacements. I would love to find some more tasty goodies,
    (cookies, cake, muffins) as I’ve been craving sweets and just can’t seem to find any without something from my ‘off limits’ list. Any ideas? Thanks so much!

  6. its great to find eggless recipes, my son has allergies and often misses out on treats, this has discouraged me from baking. Cant wait to try them!

Share your thoughts!

