Sweet satisfaction: No nonsense chocolate chip cookies

My taste buds are slowly but steadily transforming from “I don’t have much of a sweet tooth” to “I need to quench my sugar craving for the day.” While this is not exactly a good thing, it has, however led me into experimenting a little more in the sugary land, especially with baking. Baking is particularly a little challenging for me, given that we turned lacto-vegetarian and bid our farewell to eggs a while ago. Yes, that means no egg-y cookies, cakes, pies and whatnots for us. Does that also mean perfectly punctured flat cakes and rock hard cookies worthy of throwing at someone you are not particularly fond of? Not really! I can give you a different recipe for that too, but not just yet J

The link I have to Vegweb (Vegan/Vegeratian Recipes) in my Favorites is not just for fun; I have found some seriously good, basic vegan recipes for baked goodies from this awesome repertoire. Well, it goes without saying that I have (with great success) and will continue to tweak the recipes to what works best for me. 

I found this awesome chocolate chip cookie recipe from here. When I stumbled upon this and read through the raving reviews with a mouth that wouldn’t close and drooling that wouldn’t stop, I knew I had to give it a shot. Believe me you, no one can tell these are vegan cookies. They taste equally good or better than the Frisbee sized overly sweet, egg-y CC cookies you find at the stores. I sure have tasted those when I didn’t mind eggs too much, only to be greatly disappointed with a mouth full of sugar!

vegan-chocolate-chip-cookies.jpg

I’ll skip re-typing the recipe here since I closely followed the original one. The only changes I made were:

          Added ½ cup of chopped walnuts

          Added 2 tbsp of extra water for binding the dough well

I did not choose vegan chocolate chips or carob chips but went with a brand that supports fair trade. The blend of cinnamon and vanilla imparts great aroma and flavor to these cookies. Follow the method exactly and you will land up with cookies with an unbelievable taste and texture! 

Related links:

Learn more about Fair Trade. Support it!

Eggless baking from fellow blogger: http://srefoodblog.blogspot.com/

 spnfrk.gif

7 thoughts on “Sweet satisfaction: No nonsense chocolate chip cookies

  1. Well.Vegan stuff,eh? Looks great.Last week I made the regular ones from a “famous” cookbook and it spread like saucers although they were all gone in 2 days!;D
    These really look great Roopa.Compact and less sugar.Goody for us,I will try.

    Spread like saucers! That’s too funny Asha 🙂 Give this one a try, I am sure you’ll like it! –R

  2. thanks for this recipe. i’ve been trying to find a good non-dairy choc chip recipe for a while. i have one and it works well, esp. since i like the cookies crisp, but i wanted one with a chewy end result as well. this looks great.

    Hi bee, welcome to kitchen aromas! Sounds like this recipe is for you! If you try it, let me know how it worked out. The one thing you need to watch out for is the dryness of the batter. Depending on what kind of sugar and chips you use, the batter might lose some moisture. 2 tbsp of extra water worked for me. You can adjust that based on your judgement. BTW, I love your blog and I am sure I’ll be frequenting it! –R

  3. That looks delicious!!!!! Look at those chocolate chips!!! They are just waiting to jump out hahaha……. I love chewy cookies……. I must try this for sure 🙂

  4. Awesome. I know what you mean when some baked goodies taste eggy…As I have grown older, I seem to have become more conscious of that taste and have stopped eating most of these baked treats. I have begun to dislike a lot of ice-creams too b’coz of the same eggy taste. I’ll definitely give this one a shot.

    M, give this one a try. D eats these by the jar fulls 🙂

  5. Pingback: More egg free baking: Whole wheat pumpkin ginger muffins « Kitchen Aromas

Share your thoughts!

